top of page
Search

It's Tough Enough

Updated: Jan 22, 2022


This is me, Anne Agbakoba, CEO of Numeris Media, and Publisher of Bank & Entrepreneur Africa magazine.

--

My older brother, Michael, went to be with the Lord in April 2021. Through the very difficult days, it was family and friend support that kept us going. People travelling into Ohio from across the US and internationally. It was also those thoughtful not-so-little 'little things' - the flowers, the cooked meals, the symbolic hand-made gifts, the phone calls, the funds, and that listening ear...

--

Post-funeral, when I failed to catch my Delta Airlines flight back to Nigeria (I was dilly-dallying, not really emotionally ready to leave), I faced the prospect of a hefty fine for getting onto the next available aircraft. I took a chance and wrote to Ed Bastian, CEO of Delta Airlines, (I found his address via good old Google), sharing my dilemma. To my utter surpise, I got a quick response through his Assistant, Susanna Curtis, whose efficient reputation precedes her. I was not only offered a seat the next morning, but was bumped up to a superior class seating. Service on board was spectacular. Empathy lives, and customer service is truly alive, after all. But this is a story for another day.

--

For me, as a media entrepreneur who heads a company, I was starkly reminded of the importance of business continuity - an advance planning that ensures an organisation continues to perform its critical business functions during unforseen or tragic events. The acts of kindness I received over the past months have certainly helped to keep me going, personally and professionally. However, had I been unable to cope, back-up persons were on hand to take over my role, and therefore avoid disruption to our business operations.

--

Because of my experience, we are kicking off an #ItsToughEnough campaign, whose objective is to give out token gifts to excelling entrepreneurs in Nigeria, every week, up until the end of 2021. It's our way of saying: 'We hear you. We see you. Just keep pushing'. The first winner will be announced August 24 (my Mom's birthday).

--

There is caveat - tell us a short story, in the comments section, about your entrepreneurial journey (the beginning, the highs, the lows, and how you overcame, or are trying to overcome).

--

Mid-December 2021, we will also host a Grand Draw to give away regional flight tickets, one each to two SMEs who share the most resounding entrepreneurial stories, which should ideally include giving back to society.

--

Let's build a community that encourages each other. The operating environment is already tough enough.




3,187 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page